Question about my new Symphony 1500.1 - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Vendors > (Crescendo)

(Crescendo) Crescendo Audio's Official Online Forum.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2014, 10:07 PM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Location: Tampa,Fl
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Question about my new Symphony 1500.1

I just bought a Symphony 1500.1 from Evan at Audiophiles Engineering in Tampa (good dude btw) and I am going to be running 4 awg knukollosuss ofc (sized about 3 awg) for a lil bit since I won't run more than 150 amps any way and until I can upgrade to some 1/0 ofc. Since there are 1/0 inputs on the amp, should I connect bare wire, or would you recommend using some oversized 1/0 to 1/0 reducers for a more snug/clean connection? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-26-2014, 10:18 PM
Jeffhulbert50's Avatar
Authorized Vendor
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss14115
Location: middle of east
Thanks: 65
Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,344 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

As long as your using 1/0 supply your fine... bare wire or reducer is a preference based on what you like
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-26-2014, 10:43 PM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Location: Tampa,Fl
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhulbert50 View Post
As long as your using 1/0 supply your fine... bare wire or reducer is a preference based on what you like
Yeah, but thats the thing, I won't be using 1/0 supply at first, it's gonna be oversized 4 by knu konceptz the ofc that has a 150amp rating. It'd be impossible to pull more amps than that on this amp, so I'll use it for a month or so before the upgrade. They guy that sold it too me said it's str8 to do, just ideal to have the 1/0. I forgot to ask him what is the best connection until then, str8 wire or the reducers. I was thinking that the reducer's might be more snug in the amps 1/0 input that the oversized 4 bare wire. You're input?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-2014, 10:49 PM
Jeffhulbert50's Avatar
Authorized Vendor
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss14115
Location: middle of east
Thanks: 65
Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,344 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

it doesn't matter, 4ga input is 4ga sized, except knu will be slightly larger. the connection wont matter efficiency wise between the 2.

the amp only drawing "150" amps max isn't the only draw back to using just 4ga vs 1/0. youll see more voltage drop with a 4ga being loaded near max capacity then a 1/0 at half capacity, there for the amps output will be lower too since the voltage drop will probably be around .5 from front to back, or more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:00 PM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Location: Tampa,Fl
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhulbert50 View Post
it doesn't matter, 4ga input is 4ga sized, except knu will be slightly larger. the connection wont matter efficiency wise between the 2.

the amp only drawing "150" amps max isn't the only draw back to using just 4ga vs 1/0. youll see more voltage drop with a 4ga being loaded near max capacity then a 1/0 at half capacity, there for the amps output will be lower too since the voltage drop will probably be around .5 from front to back, or more
Thanks for the info, and that's why I'll only be running the 4 wire for about a month at the most, just while the my new Fi Q12 breaks in a lil bit, and my pockets recouperate from the hit it took for everything I picked up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:03 PM
Jeffhulbert50's Avatar
Authorized Vendor
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss14115
Location: middle of east
Thanks: 65
Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,344 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

voltmeter hooked up at the amp and itll be fine on the 4ga for now... just watch the drop when loading it hard
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:06 PM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Location: Tampa,Fl
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhulbert50 View Post
it doesn't matter, 4ga input is 4ga sized, except knu will be slightly larger. the connection wont matter efficiency wise between the 2.

the amp only drawing "150" amps max isn't the only draw back to using just 4ga vs 1/0. youll see more voltage drop with a 4ga being loaded near max capacity then a 1/0 at half capacity, there for the amps output will be lower too since the voltage drop will probably be around .5 from front to back, or more
With a big 3 with 1/0 upgrades, would I still see voltage drops? The amp has 1/0 inputs, but alot of 1500 watt amps only have 4ga since that is all you technically need on that power, so why would I have voltage drop on this amp, but not another one w/ 4ga inputs? I know a few higher quality ones have em like mine, sundown, etc... but haven't seen a whole lot of em.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to lex2674 For This Useful Post:
caraudio4 (04-29-2014)
  #8  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:10 PM
Jeffhulbert50's Avatar
Authorized Vendor
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss14115
Location: middle of east
Thanks: 65
Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,344 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

the voltage drop doesn't have to do with the amps inputs, it has to do with load (amperage) over distance... if you run a 4ga wire at max capacity over 25 feet, the resistance will cause voltage drop between the two ends. there for, if you use 4ga on the amp at or near full capacity and the power source is 15-20ft away, you will see a decent amount of drop. BUT, if the wire was bigger, youll see less drop since the wires not working as hard.

this is about the wire, not the terminal basically
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Jeffhulbert50 For This Useful Post:
lex2674 (04-27-2014)
  #9  
Old 04-26-2014, 11:19 PM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss13
Location: Tampa,Fl
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhulbert50 View Post
the voltage drop doesn't have to do with the amps inputs, it has to do with load (amperage) over distance... if you run a 4ga wire at max capacity over 25 feet, the resistance will cause voltage drop between the two ends. there for, if you use 4ga on the amp at or near full capacity and the power source is 15-20ft away, you will see a decent amount of drop. BUT, if the wire was bigger, youll see less drop since the wires not working as hard.

this is about the wire, not the terminal basically
Thats what I thought you meant just clearing it up, thanks for all the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symphony Series Amps EpicenterDesigns (Crescendo) 24 12-20-2016 02:32 PM
Symphony 1500.1 on the Amp Dyno codyj18 (Crescendo) 36 09-26-2015 12:04 PM
Symphony Series Amps jrod1050 (Crescendo) 8 06-24-2014 10:42 PM
Symphony 800.4 on the Amp Dyno codyj18 (Crescendo) 0 02-19-2014 01:26 AM
Help with Replacing Audi a4 symphony system. ItsAjeepThingg General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 3 01-29-2013 02:57 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.