Can I use the empty slots in the fuse box? - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > The OT™ > General Automotive Chat

General Automotive Chat Discuss the latest auto news, ehancements that you would like to make to your vehicle or if something is broken, need advice on geting it fixed or anything about automobiles in general.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2014, 05:52 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default Can I use the empty slots in the fuse box?

I want to add a fuse to my cache cloc'd after the incident yesterday with the 2a fuse on the pac pclc21 popping.

I'm wondering if the fuse box under the dash (right next to the radio) is all wired up, and just needs an additional wire and fuse to go to another device.

I have no experience with fuse boxes and I don't want to take mine out to experiment in case it could cause major problems.

Here is a pic of the one in the cabin.

I assume there is a single 8 or 4awg wire coming in from the engine fuse box with a big 200a fuse or something.

Actually, now that I look at it, I know that thick red wire is going to the back, directly into the battery.

Are all those other wires where you would insert the leads coming from the fuses? (Like I said, no experience with fuse boxes..only in line fuses)



__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016

Last edited by graham; 03-26-2014 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:09 PM
socalxj's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 12/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2371
Location: socal
Thanks: 297
Thanked 187 Times in 166 Posts
iTrader: (16)
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Default

Sure but it's not as easy as you think unless you have an empty hot terminal for accessories. Take two female quick connect wire terminals and connect one to each side of the fuse. There you made your own fuse block!
I like that your always thinking Graham
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:09 PM
craiggus365's Avatar
Partially Unwound
 
Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2696
Location: NJ -(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
Age: 46
Thanks: 79
Thanked 217 Times in 197 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Default

Looks like a nightmare of a job (like running wire through a Molex) and IIRC the empty slots don't usually have wire behind them, but most of my experience lies with imports, so GM could be diff.
Good luck, prob gonna need it!
__________________
Where the Governor is on a steak, the cops are on the take, and the welcoming committee is a sawed-off shotgun!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:15 PM
doug118's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4674
Location: RI
Thanks: 504
Thanked 390 Times in 323 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Default

It is possible but that fuse box looks like a total PITA
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:19 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalxj View Post
Sure but it's not as easy as you think unless you have an empty hot terminal for accessories.
What do you mean by that? Like one that is already hooked up but doesn't have a fuse, as if I removed a fuse from something that is being used, etc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalxj View Post
Take two female quick connect wire terminals and connect one to each side of the fuse. There you made your own fuse block!
I like that your always thinking Graham
I know I have several in line fuses. I wanted to make it real clean though. This seemed like a great way to clean my wires up, especially with my switches. I wanted to put a fuse on them too.

It was either this, or buying a small fuse block like this and placing it near the stock one.

New DC32V 6 Way Terminals Circuit Car Auto Blade Fuse Box Block Holder ATC ATO | eBay

__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:28 PM
socalxj's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 12/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2371
Location: socal
Thanks: 297
Thanked 187 Times in 166 Posts
iTrader: (16)
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Default

Score yourself one of these...ATC and ATO 6 Ganged Fuse Block
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:35 PM
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss292
Location: NY
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Do you want a directechs printout for your car?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-26-2014, 06:52 PM
tony30cl's Avatar
WE DEM BOYZ
 
Activity Longevity
3/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7496
Location: Roanoke,Va
Thanks: 569
Thanked 401 Times in 319 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Feedback Score: 22 reviews
Default

you can certainly use those bud, thats why they are put there. however it is hard to wire up in the newer vehicles. take the dude above me up on his offer for those sheets, They will come in handy.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Damn SQ guys will argue over anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-26-2014, 07:03 PM
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss292
Location: NY
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

i do remote starts and installs for a living. You are better off using a different gameplan instead of trying to use the factory pinouts. not saying it cant be done, but id just work on wire management instead of what you are proposing.
my 2 cents
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Deegan2 For This Useful Post:
ltr450racer690 (03-26-2014)
  #10  
Old 03-26-2014, 07:11 PM
ltr450racer690's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3414
Location: west lafayette
Thanks: 160
Thanked 142 Times in 110 Posts
iTrader: (19)
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Default

^^^^^^^^ that
__________________
AUDIOTECHIX DEALER
DLP CUSTOMS SALES REP


"Like all of hank's setups, he'll spend tons of time working on it, use it for 13 seconds, and then start all over again."- Tommy K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flared slots skinnyg General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 11 02-22-2013 10:10 AM
Battery terminal options, please help! no more room and I need more slots! graham General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 4 01-28-2013 08:55 PM
Empty Dual Bandpass Box $150!!! Raptor660 Craigslist Deals 6 02-15-2012 11:26 PM
Anyone Test Aero ports vs Rounded Slots? murderedtahoe General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 12 12-03-2011 10:53 AM
Empty computer case nitro_freak1 Miscellaneous Stuff For Sale 1 12-09-2008 10:29 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.