All tire sensors no longer work after having tire patched - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > The OT™ > General Automotive Chat

General Automotive Chat Discuss the latest auto news, ehancements that you would like to make to your vehicle or if something is broken, need advice on geting it fixed or anything about automobiles in general.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:48 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default All tire sensors no longer work after having tire patched

I went to les schwab to have the rear tire patched (it would go flat after 2 days) and after that, none of the sensors work.

I went back today to ask about it, and he said they tried to re-align the system and now I would have to replace the sensor to get them to show up...

But 3 of them worked fine even with one not working...

Should they have asked me first? Seems like they kind of ****ed me by trying to re program it...I don't remember exactly what he said, but even after the one stopped working, and I had multiple alignment/balancing done at firestone, the 3 still worked fine.

Are they pulling some BS to get me to spend money on the broken sensor?

He said unplugging the battery would not do anything, but should I try it anyway?

He seemed very shady, like a typical shop owner would...so I'm leaning towards him having done this on purpose.
__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:54 PM
massivespl's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
1/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss8409
Location: michigan
Thanks: 410
Thanked 735 Times in 568 Posts
iTrader: (39)
Feedback Score: 39 reviews
Default

There just sensors. I'd just leave them broken. Ppl got by just fine without tire pressure sensors for like 80yrs.
__________________
C-pillar flat wall best score: 158.6db
1 vital power 700.1 @ .33ohm
4 NSV3 18s
8 pwx crescendo 10s
Quad excessive amperage 350alts
4 juicebox 3100s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to massivespl For This Useful Post:
theFiverMan (02-23-2015)
  #3  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:58 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivespl View Post
There just sensors. I'd just leave them broken. Ppl got by just fine without tire pressure sensors for like 80yrs.
I know, but it's nice to have them.
__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:00 PM
tv550's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1658
Location: Fresno
Thanks: 199
Thanked 146 Times in 123 Posts
iTrader: (37)
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
Default

I hate not having sensors and the light popping up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:02 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1526
Location: Louisville
Age: 29
Thanks: 180
Thanked 104 Times in 89 Posts
iTrader: (16)
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham View Post
I went to les schwab to have the rear tire patched (it would go flat after 2 days) and after that, none of the sensors work.

I went back today to ask about it, and he said they tried to re-align the system and now I would have to replace the sensor to get them to show up...

But 3 of them worked fine even with one not working...

Should they have asked me first? Seems like they kind of ****ed me by trying to re program it...I don't remember exactly what he said, but even after the one stopped working, and I had multiple alignment/balancing done at firestone, the 3 still worked fine.

Are they pulling some BS to get me to spend money on the broken sensor?

He said unplugging the battery would not do anything, but should I try it anyway?

He seemed very shady, like a typical shop owner would...so I'm leaning towards him having done this on purpose.

Try to clean them?

Whats up with that? not all shop owners are shady. Thats the thing with cars. Ive seen people get one thing fixed and something else go wrong a few days or weeks later and want to blame a shop for it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:11 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theFiverMan View Post
Try to clean it?

Whats up with that? not all shop owners are shady. Thats the thing with cars. Ive seen people get one thing fixed and something else go wrong a few days or weeks later and want to blame a shop for it.
Well in this case, it actually WAS their fault and I'm not just blaming them without proof. He even admitted that he tried to re-program it, and when he did that, it causes the vehicle's computer to not even notice the working ones anymore. He explained it as soon as I asked today...he didn't look anything up...At least with firestone it was a coincidence that one stopped working. That's fine...I can live with 3. But this douche clearly knew what he was doing and did it anyway...that's what pisses me off...Why the hell would he do it if he knew it would happen? Oh yeah, so he could force me to pay for another sensor and pay them to install it...what a surprise.

I wouldn't set the gain on a 1000w amp to 75% if the sub is only 250w rms... "Oh yeah, well the sub can only take 250w rms, so by setting the amp to push out all 1000w rms, it was getting too much power - (I totally knew that doing this was a bad idea, but I did it anyway)" - this is basically what happened...am I the only one that sees this?

And I know all shops aren't bad. It may be me, I may look like a sucker or a pushover...or un-informed...so that's why all shops have thought they can just lie to me and make money. Excuse me for calling them out for doing this...
__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:13 PM
graham's Avatar
Tinder Douchebag
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7095
Location: East bay, ca
Age: 19
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 454 Times in 363 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tv550 View Post
I hate not having sensors and the light popping up.
I don't mind the light and notification. It's just a push of a button to get rid of it. And I can deal with only 3 working. But I can't stand being tricked and ****ed over.
__________________
Bc2000d - jvf FI BL 15" - s800/4

team graham

offerup elite expert team 2016
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:25 PM
Jeffhulbert50's Avatar
Authorized Vendor
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss14115
Location: middle of east
Thanks: 65
Thanked 1,756 Times in 1,344 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

he probably thought he needed to reprogram the sensor after deflating and fixing the hole. did he do a pull through patch? liquid? or sticky?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:47 PM
Ryan1126's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss9178
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 29
Thanks: 97
Thanked 380 Times in 274 Posts
iTrader: (59)
Feedback Score: 59 reviews
Default

seems weird to me. but when i put my new tires and wheels on i didnt even bother with the sensors because to dismount put the sensor in and remount and balance for all 4 wheels was like $200+ so i just deal with the light.
__________________

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-23-2015, 03:48 PM
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss278
Location: loudon,tn
Thanks: 32
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default tire sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivespl View Post
There just sensors. I'd just leave them broken. Ppl got by just fine without tire pressure sensors for like 80yrs.
They are on a 10amp fuse ,i pulled my fuse on them and light no longer shows on the dash ,im with massive stupid to even have them!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bike tire surround GiGLZ General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 10 09-22-2011 01:46 AM
battery going in spare tire well? jdmferio13 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 2 08-07-2011 05:28 PM
what series tire? crownvicon26's General Automotive Chat 43 03-12-2011 07:50 PM
Lo Pro Tire Help got160s? Off Topic Chat 3 10-14-2010 04:35 PM
help on spare tire box. kurrupt Enclosure Discussion & Design Construction Help 8 11-05-2009 09:27 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.