Using too large of fuse - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > The OT™ > General Automotive Chat

General Automotive Chat Discuss the latest auto news, ehancements that you would like to make to your vehicle or if something is broken, need advice on geting it fixed or anything about automobiles in general.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2009, 01:00 PM
aturcotte127317's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3613
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 28
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default Using too large of fuse

what can happen from using too large of a fuse? i am running some wires for soem switches for my REM, and some LED's, and i am not sure what size fuse i should use, so i just threw a 30A in there.

Whats the worse that can happen?

ALSO is a 10A fuse enough for a REM?
__________________
147.5 sealed on dash
149.0 in kick

and climbing
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2 12" 2010 Type Rs
or
1 15" DD 9915
Audison VRX 1.500
or
Sundown SAZ1500D
Crescendo 1000C4
Selenium and Vifa mids and highs
SHOK wire
-Team Bringin' The Bass- -Team Shok- -Team CACO-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:14 PM
newarkbeast973's Avatar
CACO Supporter
 
Activity Longevity
3/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7810
Location: new jersey
Thanks: 94
Thanked 286 Times in 226 Posts
iTrader: (83)
Feedback Score: 83 reviews
Default

if the fuse is too big it will not protect your wire, therefore when the short run through the fuse, it may not pop and it will let the short keep running through. I am not sure what size fuse to use for that stuff though
__________________
New build coming soon!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:54 PM
nismos14's Avatar
Super Moderators
 
Activity Longevity
2/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss18241
Location: NJ
Age: 38
Thanks: 134
Thanked 152 Times in 117 Posts
iTrader: (64)
Feedback Score: 64 reviews
Default

Why are you running a fuse on your remote wire? Unless you're using a relay, and even then, you don't really need one on your remote wire.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Car, My Ears.

Quote:
if it was anyone besides nizzy i would agree. but he gave you the benefit of the doubt and only gave you a 5 pter when it should be considered a perma ban. nizzy isnt a nazi mod, hes one of the laid back ones. although i do not support all of the staffs decisions this is one staff that i do support 100%. just let it go and move on. it will expire
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:59 PM
DLP customs
Guest
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 0/20
Today Posts
0/0 sssssssss
Default

Ya you should never need to fuse remote wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:06 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1418
Location: Sumter, SC
Age: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (7)
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deafdreamz View Post
Ya you should never need to fuse remote wire.
well some of us are way to ****ing extremelycautious. lol
__________________
2005 Chevy Colorado
Pioneer Avic N1
Viper 791 XV Remote start/Security
PG RSD 6.5'" components
Kicker Hyperflex 0 Gauge
2 Kinetik HC600
1 MOJO 15"
7 cu. ft 32 hz.


Refs
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
:CA.COM:memphisflex,iamamp3pimp, twistid, grimreper912003,Wkbdkid, csu87,1000101, mrwigglezdj,Goindef154
ROE: abmw735ie32, southpole1989, tacosys,Breakjunki, groundpound4200, Visitor
CAC.O: Caps, banginexplorer, tzsplfocus, jagblazer01, Mojo, lunari, Ctippins,duece212, derrick824, BlackWaterOP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:08 PM
jbizzle's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4346
Location: Chicago, IL
Thanks: 29
Thanked 31 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (26)
Feedback Score: 26 reviews
Default

Just won't protect the wire, it'll act as if the fuse isn't even there.
__________________
'07 Chevy Trailblazer SS AWD (Garage Queen)
- Alpine 9887
- Eclipse SC8365 3-Way front stage
- Sundown SAX-125.2

'98 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Daily)
- Alpine 9887 (Active)
- Selenium 6" Mids, 4 Crescendo CTS-1 Tweeters
- Sundown SAX-100.4D
- 2 Sundown SA-12s
- Sundown SAZ-1500Dv2

Team Sundown Audio
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:09 PM
aturcotte127317's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3613
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 28
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

i didnt fuse the REM, i fused the + wire going to the switch for the REM.
Is there any way to measure (with a DMM) how many amp fuse i should use?
__________________
147.5 sealed on dash
149.0 in kick

and climbing
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2 12" 2010 Type Rs
or
1 15" DD 9915
Audison VRX 1.500
or
Sundown SAZ1500D
Crescendo 1000C4
Selenium and Vifa mids and highs
SHOK wire
-Team Bringin' The Bass- -Team Shok- -Team CACO-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:31 PM
hifonicsviii's Avatar
Loyal Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1423
Location: South Texas
Age: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

for simply remote most likely a 1 amp fuse, hard to find, what else you powering besides remote, think the output is like 200-400 mA on most decks, And if I am correct the highest I seen labeled is 1 amp..

The problem with a hugh fuse in line means the wire will most likely melt away its insulation before the fuse pops, since these remote wires are so thin..

You can always look for those packages that have diffrent fuse ratings and thry them out from smallest to highest but most places only have 4-5 amp fuses as there small ones and those should be fine either 4 or 5 amp fuse rating
__________________
556 positive feedback from 506 users on Ebay!!!

Paypal verified ..207..since 2004





To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Bought from- - ShiZZZoN - pieper88 -

Sold to - super_duper - lilkman2202
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:30 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1560
Location: Washington originally from Iowa 98315
Age: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Default

i have a 1/2 amp fuse that came with my old pioneer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:35 PM
hifonicsviii's Avatar
Loyal Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1423
Location: South Texas
Age: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaTT6387 View Post
i have a 1/2 amp fuse that came with my old pioneer

Think I remember those..
__________________
556 positive feedback from 506 users on Ebay!!!

Paypal verified ..207..since 2004





To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Bought from- - ShiZZZoN - pieper88 -

Sold to - super_duper - lilkman2202
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD]Knu Konceptz Mini ANL Fuse Holder w/fuse NoPh33rRaCiNg Wiring, Electrical & Other Installation Equipment 2 04-17-2009 10:05 PM
[SOLD] 1/0 Fuse Holder, Fuse, 4 gauge wire, GM sideposts NoPh33rRaCiNg Wiring, Electrical & Other Installation Equipment 3 02-01-2009 11:14 AM
2 Kicker ANL fuse holders w/ 300anl fuse MazzaSEC Wiring, Electrical & Other Installation Equipment 16 11-07-2008 11:40 AM
[SOLD]FS: KnuKonceptz 0 Gauge Fuse Holder with 120A Fuse!! na_rsx Wiring, Electrical & Other Installation Equipment 9 11-01-2008 06:47 PM
[SOLD] 4awg wire and fuse holder w/fuse waresgaragestereo Wiring, Electrical & Other Installation Equipment 3 10-16-2008 03:16 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.