Two amps, one remote knob? - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2011, 01:56 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss617
Location: wyoming
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default Two amps, one remote knob?

For an experiment, I am running two matching sub amps, but I only want one remote knob. Has anyone tried running a cat 5 splitter, or something similar?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-2011, 02:14 AM
EARmeBump's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss404
Location: Orlando, FL
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

I am curious about this as well. I have (2) saz2500's but one bass knob
__________________
Quote:
It was a water bed, 6x9s mounted to the head board and the deck running off a radio shack power supply to set the mood for the girls. Not that there we many but I did OK.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
I was born in the dressing room at walmart. My mom was a door greeter, my father a cart cowboy. Times were tough, but I pushed on and became manager of electronics at the des moines Iowa walmart.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-05-2011, 02:27 AM
serjr711's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2699
Location: Antioch,Ca.
Thanks: 387
Thanked 87 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (65)
Feedback Score: 65 reviews
Default

If you have 2 identical amps and they can be strapped, you can use one bass knob to control both amps. I believe you have to have a master and slave selector on both amps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-2011, 02:28 AM
92K1500's Avatar
3/17/2011 RIP
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss22939
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Age: 30
Thanks: 16
Thanked 357 Times in 278 Posts
iTrader: (27)
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Default

A cat5 splitter wont do shit. Amps don't use cat5 connectors (that I've seen)



__________________
Team CACO Team SHOK
Supporting Member
Vehicle: 04 350Z Touring Headunit: Pioneer AVH-X8500BHS
Front Stage: Rainbow SLC 265.25NG .. Amp: SAX-100.4
Sub: 2x RL-I 10s @33hz ................. Amp: SAZ-1000D


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:46 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss855
Location: Las Vegas Nv
Thanks: 19
Thanked 29 Times in 25 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rideit View Post
For an experiment, I am running two matching sub amps, but I only want one remote knob. Has anyone tried running a cat 5 splitter, or something similar?
Last I checked don't they use standard phone line cable type stuff and why no strap the amps so that way you have the exact same settings as the master amp

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:17 AM
nicholask1993's Avatar
Dubstep Addict
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1802
Location: Asheville, NC
Thanks: 24
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsoccersully View Post
Last I checked don't they use standard phone line cable type stuff and why no strap the amps so that way you have the exact same settings as the master amp

Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk
Maybe his amps can't be strapped in a master/slave config. I plan on getting a second MB Quart Onyx 1500.1 which can't be strapped but gain matching them and would like to know if I could use one bass knob for both of them also.

Also my Onyx for sure uses a Cat5 connector though my friends Audiopipe amp used a telephone connector...
__________________
1998 Subaru Forester
Sony CDX GT-565UP Head Unit
Cadence 6.5" Components
MB Quart Onyx 1500.1
Skar Audio VVX 15" in magic box designed by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/Surreal

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:18 AM
chapdawg1971's Avatar
Semi-Loud Trunk
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1950
Location: Central Texas
Age: 48
Thanks: 29
Thanked 49 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (25)
Feedback Score: 25 reviews
Default

I believe you would have to have your amps gain matched, even if it were possible.
__________________
4th USACI WF 2011 Trunk 0-1K 154.3db

157.??....and done.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:35 AM
mcmuffin's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3380
Location: baton rouge la
Thanks: 68
Thanked 211 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader: (28)
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Default

get a universal gain knob that goes through your rca's bro

look at the pac lc-1
__________________
*** NEW BUILD COMING SOON ***


its a secret for now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:37 AM
9515ROB's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2057
Location: Sherman IL
Age: 29
Thanks: 25
Thanked 114 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Default

Just get a Pac LC1
__________________
Being loud is waste of money

880prs/Front-Hybrid Audio Technology Legatia L8 L3 L1v2 3-way/Sub- 3 blown MB Quart RLP-304 shallow mount 12s/Sub Amp- Visonik v2908/4ch- DD C4a

Still got a lot of stuff left to get
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-05-2011, 09:57 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4405
Location: N. Alabama
Thanks: 296
Thanked 674 Times in 524 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

Regardless of what kind of cable is used, there should be two wires connected inside the knob. The knob changes voltage, so you can simply solder the connections in parallel to control both amps. That's the way my AP 1800 is at least.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bc2000 remote knob?? fyerbyrd22 (Crescendo) 1 07-22-2011 02:11 PM
Gain knob question. 2 amps 1 knob jonny101abc General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 9 07-04-2010 03:38 AM
remote knob bobbygilly (Crescendo) 4 06-13-2010 11:49 AM
Build an a/d/s/ AC502 remote bass knob remote from a different bass knob? MisterTedster General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 0 02-26-2010 10:57 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.