Fusing for large amps/power - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2012, 08:26 PM
Captain Tying Knots
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1220
Location: Montana
Age: 25
Thanks: 18
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Fusing for large amps/power

How do you guys do it? This is going to be my first big power (well, big for me) build and I need help learning to fuse for bigger power. The amp I will be using is a Stetsom 7K D and I'm buying dual inputs for it from Woofer Warehouse, so 2 runs of 1/0 each for positive and negative. Would I be able to get distro blocks that have 2 1/0 inputs and outputs and use two 240 amp fuses per block? Any input/tips are immensely appreciated.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TEAM NWSPL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:19 AM
vince79vette's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2011
Location: frederick
Thanks: 5
Thanked 51 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

From what I have been told is that u fuse what your alt puts out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:21 AM
iamsonic's Avatar
admin my ass
 
Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss31255
Location: Waterloo Iowa
Thanks: 2,550
Thanked 2,474 Times in 1,732 Posts
iTrader: (185)
Feedback Score: 185 reviews
Default

don't "fuse for what the alt puts out"

----------------------------------------------------


fuse your wires for what the wires can carry.

fuse your amplifiers for the maximum current they could draw at 12 volts.
[trust me, you don't want to exceed that amperage or drop below 12 volts]

(or fuse your amps for what the wires can carry... but you shouldn't be using wires which can't carry the max the amp can draw)

Last edited by iamsonic; 03-06-2012 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:31 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss542
Location: PA
Thanks: 20
Thanked 48 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

I don't use fuses, this site has 400A+ fuse blocks.

ANL Type Fuse Block 750A Max with Cover Blue Sea 5503: 5503_Blue_Sea Genuinedealz

I don't know what the current draw on a 7K is but 240A seems too low. Just because you run multiple wires, it won't evenly devide the power in each wire. You want the fuse to me rated for at least the maximum draw of the amplifiers.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-06-2012, 01:58 PM
Captain Tying Knots
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1220
Location: Montana
Age: 25
Thanks: 18
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamsonic View Post
don't "fuse for what the alt puts out"

----------------------------------------------------


fuse your wires for what the wires can carry.

fuse your amplifiers for the maximum current they could draw at 12 volts.
[trust me, you don't want to exceed that amperage or drop below 12 volts]

(or fuse your amps for what the wires can carry... but you shouldn't be using wires which can't carry the max the amp can draw)
What I could find was 480 amps max draw. So should I go two runs of 1/0 with dual inputs or a larger gauge wire?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TEAM NWSPL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-06-2012, 03:46 PM
twentyhurtz's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1335
Location: Ellisville, Ms
Thanks: 19
Thanked 79 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm using 300a Knuconcepts fuses with the Open ended ANL plastic fuse blocks. I use these and cut the ends off using my dremel because the opening is made for 1/0 wire. I'm running 3/0 and because the ring terminals are so large i have to modify the holder. I have double stacked fuses before in a holder (only could find 150's at the time).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-06-2012, 08:32 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4405
Location: N. Alabama
Thanks: 296
Thanked 674 Times in 524 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db xTc View Post
I don't use fuses, this site has 400A+ fuse blocks.

ANL Type Fuse Block 750A Max with Cover Blue Sea 5503: 5503_Blue_Sea Genuinedealz

I don't know what the current draw on a 7K is but 240A seems too low. Just because you run multiple wires, it won't evenly devide the power in each wire. You want the fuse to me rated for at least the maximum draw of the amplifiers.
Actually, it will. There might be small variations because of minor resistance issues, but not enough to matter.

And the rule is : FUSE FOR THE WIRE. If the amp isn't going to draw as much amperage as the wire is capable of carrying, it's fine to fuse lower. You will be fine with the dual 240 amp setup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-06-2012, 08:36 PM
iamsonic's Avatar
admin my ass
 
Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss31255
Location: Waterloo Iowa
Thanks: 2,550
Thanked 2,474 Times in 1,732 Posts
iTrader: (185)
Feedback Score: 185 reviews
Default

I use a uni-bit by hand to enlarge the wire holes in the barrel style ANL fuse holders.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-06-2012, 09:10 PM
gti1.8t's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss361
Location: everywhere & anywhere theres bass
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Would u guys mind posting pics of the "modified" fuse holders? I'm curious since I'll be doing the same this summer.
__________________
Purchased from: dbass,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:40 PM
twentyhurtz's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1335
Location: Ellisville, Ms
Thanks: 19
Thanked 79 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

i will try to remember to take a picture tomorrow. It's not pretty so i currently have mine wrapped once in gorilla tape since the crappy plastic covers don't like to stay snapped on. The are some cheap install bay anl holders.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large lot of amps for repair. ghostmechanic Broken & Non-working equipment 27 12-14-2011 08:49 AM
list of large class ab amps ellocojorge General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 25 11-30-2011 11:09 AM
Large Quantity of Used Sundown Amps sundownz (Sundown Audio) 64 10-25-2010 07:45 AM
WTB/WTTF Large Sub Amp/Amps 4-10 KW sound_around Wanting to Buy (WTB) 22 08-11-2010 08:45 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.