Why does TL show 57hz when I played a 43hz tone? - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2013, 02:22 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1741
Location: Minnesota
Age: 29
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default Why does TL show 57hz when I played a 43hz tone?

I played a 43hz tone to get this.. its showing 57, as far as I know.. I really dont know a lot about the TL yet.. Just doesnt seem like it should be saying 57hz on it..

I also dont know how to find my peak frequency with the TL, If anyone has any advice.. I just learned about the k factor or whatever, I never knew I had to enter that number off the sensor into the program..

EDIT: Actually I think the peak frequency on it says 11, either way none of those numbers sound right..
[ATTACH]42801[/ATTACH
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 976897_10151665770673530_637081621_o.jpg (71.4 KB, 91 views)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 02:45 AM
Masterofallbass's Avatar
Team Minnesota's Loudest
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1973
Location: Minnesota!
Age: 31
Thanks: 239
Thanked 70 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

yeah theres something wrong with the program or instacal
__________________
2010 MidWest Spl: Xtreme 1 Champion - Kaos Champion - No Wall 3rd Place
2011 MidWest Spl: Xtreme 3 3rd Place - Advanced 2 6th Place
2012 MidWest Spl: Xtreme 3 3rd Place - Advanced 2 5th Place
2013 MidWest Spl: Xtreme 4 3rd Place - Advanced 3 6th Place
2014 MidWest Spl: Xtreme 4 Champion - Kaos 4 2nd Place - Advanced 3 3rd Place
2015 USACI: Street Beat 4 World Record Holder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 11:02 AM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4405
Location: N. Alabama
Thanks: 296
Thanked 674 Times in 524 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

The spectrum analyzer on the bottom shows a range of frequencies, not just one. I can't make out what it says though. Try a different tone source.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:34 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1741
Location: Minnesota
Age: 29
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPLEclipse View Post
The spectrum analyzer on the bottom shows a range of frequencies, not just one. I can't make out what it says though. Try a different tone source.
If I understand what you're saying correctly, How can I even get an exact frequency off the graph? Just have to guess?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterofallbass View Post
yeah theres something wrong with the program or instacal
I think Im going to reinstall all of it and see what happens..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:48 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss972
Location: South Dakota
Thanks: 57
Thanked 47 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (23)
Feedback Score: 23 reviews
Default

The TermLab holds the peak frequency...So if you are trying to find a peak, run a sweep, or simply start low and go up in frequencies...It will continue to hold the loudest one. Assuming you use the mode that holds peaks, not rta.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:52 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4405
Location: N. Alabama
Thanks: 296
Thanked 674 Times in 524 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by westman995 View Post
If I understand what you're saying correctly, How can I even get an exact frequency off the graph? Just have to guess?



I think Im going to reinstall all of it and see what happens..
I think the termlab gives you your peak frequency regardless of the source material. That's how you get metered on, for example, music, where the frequency is changing a lot. If your single-frequency test tone has a small Q factor it can "spread" to a wider range of frequencies. The score listed is the correct dB at the displayed frequency, just not the one you expected.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:54 PM
CACO Supporter
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3232
Location: mass
Thanks: 240
Thanked 102 Times in 74 Posts
iTrader: (17)
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Default

just cause you played 43hz doesn't mean you peak at it let others say try a sweep.
__________________
TEAM420
TEAM XSPOWER
TEAM DC AUDIO
SS 1-2 3rd PLACE 2007 INDY "REGIONALS"
SS 1-2 1ST PLACE INDY AND 2008 NATIONAL CHAMPION.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:16 PM
SINTORMAN's Avatar
157.28db,41hz +Increasing
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4907
Location: Colorado 80526
Thanks: 548
Thanked 669 Times in 474 Posts
iTrader: (17)
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Default

I am inclined to think you didn't play a tone.. But a song that "peaked" at 43hz. If you played a 43hz tone then the graph should have one large bar at 43hz and possibly two smaller bars on the right and left of it.

If you did infact play a tone then your program/sensor is probably fugged up.
__________________
Current Build:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


4 15s + Flat Wall + 10k = Loud

#60sHereIcome
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:16 PM
Anton Miller's Avatar
DoucheMiller
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3720
Location: Minneapolis MN
Age: 31
Thanks: 390
Thanked 294 Times in 238 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Default

he "reset" then burped 43 hz and it showed up at 57 hz and a block of freq ont he analyzer showed up. im assuming its a wire of some sort. a fresh install will be good to check but I think its a cord. kind of like when you unplug the mic and re plug it in it shows a WIDE range of freq and a high score....
__________________
1997 CHEVY CAVALIER - BUILT FOR EFFICIENCY!! YOUTUBE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:00 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1741
Location: Minnesota
Age: 29
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Does anyone know if the cord for the mic is a standard ethernet cord? I am going to try that quick if its just a standard cord, which i think it is.. If not I am going to reinstall all of the stuff for it..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
u like ur prostate being played with? upzaw2000 Uncensored Off Topic 12 05-31-2011 03:48 PM
2 Never Played MTX TR7515's Joker6167 15" Subwoofers 3 04-01-2011 07:58 PM
My conspiracy that everybody played a part of ;) 98HOEONSIXEZ Off Topic Chat 13 08-31-2010 02:46 PM
Played with the TL - How did I do? SPY General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 36 10-25-2009 08:22 AM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.