What to do after amp gains are oscope/DMM set? - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:52 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Question What to do after amp gains are oscope/DMM set?

I have properly set the gains on my m1 b2 amp but what are u supposed to do after u adjust all the rest of your settings from flat ( I have a audio control eqs between my headpiece and amp, what should I set it to or should I just test again running through a normal set of listening preferences?)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-26-2013, 12:02 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smigletat1995 View Post
I have properly set the gains on my m1 b2 amp but what are u supposed to do after u adjust all the rest of your settings from flat ( I have a audio control eqs between my headpiece and amp, what should I set it to or should I just test again running through a normal set of listening preferences?)
Does anyone have anything? Any past experiences! Any input would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-26-2013, 12:03 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Thanks again...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-2013, 12:04 PM
taylorpro's Avatar
^ Mr. Creativity ^
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss6033
Location: Indiana
Age: 27
Thanks: 341
Thanked 392 Times in 293 Posts
iTrader: (28)
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Default

I'd set your eq where you want it for all of your other amps/speakers first. Then set the sub amp gains.
__________________
4th 2012 Db Drag WF Street Stock 150.8db

-Youtube Channel

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-26-2013, 12:11 PM
ChevyBoy95's Avatar
You have no Declue
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss773
Location: Texas
Thanks: 33
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Default

if you set your gains with a flat EQ, then boost something or even minor adjust something up, it will basically throw you into clipping very quickly. Put your EQ to how you would have it at full tilt, then set your gains.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-26-2013, 12:17 PM
SPL Distribution Owner
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2983
Location: Louisville, KY
Thanks: 54
Thanked 467 Times in 352 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

You shouldn't ever have to boost an EQ.

But if you do boost any part of the EQ, you need to confirm it doesn't amplify the signal past where you set the gains to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-26-2013, 01:13 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevyBoy95 View Post
if you set your gains with a flat EQ, then boost something or even minor adjust something up, it will basically throw you into clipping very quickly. Put your EQ to how you would have it at full tilt, then set your gains.
So then I should set my eqs to my liking hooked up to my amp (b2 m1s)then adjust the the amp accordingly? Thanks man !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-26-2013, 04:03 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shizzzon View Post
You shouldn't ever have to boost an EQ.

But if you do boost any part of the EQ, you need to confirm it doesn't amplify the signal past where you set the gains to.
Well with a head piece that is only putting out 1.5 volts on the output has forced me to damn near excellerate the gains to almost the max to bring my eqs to life
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-26-2013, 04:05 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss522
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Thanks: 91
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shizzzon View Post
You shouldn't ever have to boost an EQ.

But if you do boost any part of the EQ, you need to confirm it doesn't amplify the signal past where you set the gains to.
So should I set the gains on my amp with my eqs hooked up & signal to the amp?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-26-2013, 04:10 PM
SPL Distribution Owner
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2983
Location: Louisville, KY
Thanks: 54
Thanked 467 Times in 352 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Yes but you should it flat and then use an rta to adjust.

Any other means is just shooting in the dark.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
b2 audio, dmm, eqs, m1s, oscope

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set gains with DMM and strapped amps, and V loss question ImBob General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 7 05-02-2013 08:46 PM
I need a DMM to test RCA voltage and set gains graham Wanting to Buy (WTB) 3 04-17-2013 09:40 AM
has anybody ever testes setting gains with a DMM vs. Oscope? MERQUE General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 0 03-29-2011 08:10 PM
About to set my gains with a dmm 87linkin General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 22 07-08-2010 12:27 PM
How do I set my gains with a DMM? dbdragguy General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 78 07-03-2010 08:48 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.