Ground to Chasis question - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:19 PM
West1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss231
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 29
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default Ground to Chasis question

Before I poke holes in my truck, is there a specific location people drill?

Example, do you drill through the floor and run wire along the bottom to the chasis or do you run the wire inside the vehicle to the far left/right and drill through?

Stupid question but I'd rather ask a retarded question and be sure than drill an open area away from gas tank etc... that could create an issue.

Thanks.
__________________
Purchased from- Melverc/SA Amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:34 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1070
Location: FL
Thanks: 97
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by West1 View Post
Before I poke holes in my truck, is there a specific location people drill?

Example, do you drill through the floor and run wire along the bottom to the chasis or do you run the wire inside the vehicle to the far left/right and drill through?

Stupid question but I'd rather ask a retarded question and be sure than drill an open area away from gas tank etc... that could create an issue.

Thanks.
depends on the vehicle. if its a full size truck and you have multiple runs id run it along the frame and then drill a hole in the back wall up pretty high to avoid water intake (still seal it) and use a thick grommet to avoid the wire casing from being cut
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to mitchell0715 For This Useful Post:
West1 (04-12-2016)
  #3  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:41 PM
West1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss231
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 29
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchell0715 View Post
depends on the vehicle. if its a full size truck and you have multiple runs id run it along the frame and then drill a hole in the back wall up pretty high to avoid water intake (still seal it) and use a thick grommet to avoid the wire casing from being cut
I didn't think about grommets. Its a frontier, not the standard truck size but the 2nd bigger generation frontys. I need to run 2, one for highs and one for lows.

I hope this will fix the newly sounding static noise. Reading up, It may be the dreaded Pioneer pico fuse on a fairly new NEX.

Much appreciated mitchell
__________________
Purchased from- Melverc/SA Amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:45 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1070
Location: FL
Thanks: 97
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by West1 View Post
I didn't think about grommets. Its a frontier, not the standard truck size but the 2nd bigger generation frontys. I need to run 2, one for highs and one for lows.

I hope this will fix the newly sounding static noise. Reading up, It may be the dreaded Pioneer pico fuse on a fairly new NEX.

Much appreciated mitchell
should still have a space between the bed and cab? unless its like an avalance and its all one piece.

if you're running a relatively small system you can get away with 1 1/0 ofc run to a distro block and out to your amps.

if you have a large monoblock that pulls over 200a i highly recommend a dedicated ground run along the frame with your dedicated runs for your mids/highs amp and monoblock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:56 PM
West1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss231
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 29
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchell0715 View Post
should still have a space between the bed and cab? unless its like an avalance and its all one piece.

if you're running a relatively small system you can get away with 1 1/0 ofc run to a distro block and out to your amps.

if you have a large monoblock that pulls over 200a i highly recommend a dedicated ground run along the frame with your dedicated runs for your mids/highs amp and monoblock
124x4 for highs and 1100 for sub.

I believe the sundown mono is a 100a fuse.

What do you mean by dedicated run along the frame? Example, highs for one side of chasis and sub for other side?
__________________
Purchased from- Melverc/SA Amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:58 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1070
Location: FL
Thanks: 97
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by West1 View Post
124x4 for highs and 1100 for sub.

I believe the sundown mono is a 100a fuse.

What do you mean by dedicated run along the frame? Example, highs for one side of chasis and sub for other side?
with that type of power just run a 1/0 ofc run to the back to a distro block with 4ga ofc going out to your amps.

you should be able to just run it along the floor inside the vehicle and through the factory grommet on the firewall.

dont waste your time with the whole frame rail thing for that amount of power

the dedicated ground i was referring to was to replace your chassis as the grounding point, considering your power needs you can use the chassis as a ground just fine but upgrade your big 3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-12-2016, 04:20 PM
mega fatty
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss6008
Location: milwaukee, wi
Age: 31
Thanks: 261
Thanked 326 Times in 303 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Default

Google pioneer pico fuse fix
It's easy to do and a must if you have a pioneer with whine
And you could run one wire and use a distribution block to wire to each amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:43 AM
West1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss231
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 29
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchell0715 View Post
with that type of power just run a 1/0 ofc run to the back to a distro block with 4ga ofc going out to your amps.

you should be able to just run it along the floor inside the vehicle and through the factory grommet on the firewall.

dont waste your time with the whole frame rail thing for that amount of power

the dedicated ground i was referring to was to replace your chassis as the grounding point, considering your power needs you can use the chassis as a ground just fine but upgrade your big 3
Whats it called when you replace the chassis as ground?
Currently the shop grounded both amps to a factory screw on the back wall of the cab and a factory screw on the floor near the seats. Since I had no static noise with the FLS 125.4 for the past few months I thought everything was all good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tymoto21 View Post
Google pioneer pico fuse fix
It's easy to do and a must if you have a pioneer with whine
And you could run one wire and use a distribution block to wire to each amp
As soon as that annoying sounded started, I jumped on the web and learned about this pico issue. I will do this also. It sounds like your basic static noise plus the sound of wind through a phone. Its loud and extremely annoying lol.

Both amps have their own wire and fuse to my battery or do you mean grounding them together to chassis?
__________________
Purchased from- Melverc/SA Amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-13-2016, 03:25 PM
mega fatty
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss6008
Location: milwaukee, wi
Age: 31
Thanks: 261
Thanked 326 Times in 303 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Default

You can do both
One run of powe
One run for ground to chassis

It can give it a nice look and clean up some wires
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-13-2016, 03:49 PM
West1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss231
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 29
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tymoto21 View Post
You can do both
One run of powe
One run for ground to chassis

It can give it a nice look and clean up some wires
I originally had one run for power but wanted separate fuses per amp, so we ran 2g per amp. Might be 1g, don't remember.

For ground, I can have both highs and lows ground join together and drill it to the chassis? The shop told me it was a bad idea and would cause a short.
__________________
Purchased from- Melverc/SA Amp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Question Black Toyoda General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 9 11-15-2013 07:23 AM
Just added a battery...Ground question. Blake71091 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 26 07-17-2012 05:00 PM
Question about ground loop rxer311 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 18 08-21-2010 12:52 PM
Ground question. davidrforbus General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 12 06-08-2010 01:52 AM
ground question gbo559 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 7 12-18-2009 10:53 AM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.