How Much Port Area - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:15 PM
Redrider1's Avatar
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss92
Location: Ravenna, OH
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default How Much Port Area

How much port area would be best for 2 15" Sdc2.5s in an 8-9 cu ft, box, i wanna tune to 34-35 hz, will be putting about 1000 watts on each, in the back of a jeep cherokee, i was thinking 3 6" aero ports but im not sure if that would be enough
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:19 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7816
Location: Baton Rouge
Thanks: 36
Thanked 79 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (20)
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
Default

2 6" ports is almost too much IMO
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Atomic Loudspeakers
Audiotechnix
2011 USACI Trunk 1001+ World Champion
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterMod
I guess I should mention that being an admin means that I can circumvent and/or ignore whatever rules I want.
Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:21 PM
korey_hofer's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss33855
Location: willy wonka's sex dungeon
Thanks: 10
Thanked 965 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

I would run 3 6" ports for 2 15's, it was perfect for my 2 15's
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:27 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7816
Location: Baton Rouge
Thanks: 36
Thanked 79 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (20)
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
Default

with 3 6's each would need to be 20 inches long

3 yields a vent mach of .05

with 2 6's each would need to be 12 inches long

2 yeilds a vent mach of .12
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Atomic Loudspeakers
Audiotechnix
2011 USACI Trunk 1001+ World Champion
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterMod
I guess I should mention that being an admin means that I can circumvent and/or ignore whatever rules I want.
Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:27 PM
Redrider1's Avatar
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss92
Location: Ravenna, OH
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

i know the 12-16 sq in of port per cu ft of box is a rule of thumb for slot ports, but i heard aeros require less overall port area with the same or greater db output and 3 6"ers would only be 85 sq in, and the rule would be about 108-144 sq in for a 9 cube box
Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:27 PM
Car audio classifieds, stereo sales, subwoofer amps mids classified caraudio, BANNED!!
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss7816
Location: Baton Rouge
Thanks: 36
Thanked 79 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (20)
Feedback Score: 20 reviews
Default

with 3 6's each would need to be 20 inches long

3 yields a vent mach of .05

with 2 6's each would need to be 12 inches long

2 yeilds a vent mach of .12
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Atomic Loudspeakers
Audiotechnix
2011 USACI Trunk 1001+ World Champion
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterMod
I guess I should mention that being an admin means that I can circumvent and/or ignore whatever rules I want.
Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:41 PM
Redrider1's Avatar
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss92
Location: Ravenna, OH
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

of heard of 2 of the 15s with 4 6" aeros in a 9 cube box doing well on the meter, but i just dont think 2 of the ports would be big enough to get the most out of them because thats only 57 sq in of port, which does not sound like very much
Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:45 PM
Redrider1's Avatar
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss92
Location: Ravenna, OH
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xander_crews View Post
I would run 3 6" ports for 2 15's, it was perfect for my 2 15's
how long were they and for wat size box tuned to wat
Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:49 PM
Scapelli21's Avatar
I <3 ( . )( . )'s
 
Activity Longevity
1/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss3108
Location: New Brighton, MN
Age: 36
Thanks: 273
Thanked 105 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Default

Generally speaking, 7^2ish port/cube when using aero's.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:51 PM
korey_hofer's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssss33855
Location: willy wonka's sex dungeon
Thanks: 10
Thanked 965 Times in 748 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

my box was tuned to 37hz but box was 7ft
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
port area too big? dylan9999 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 6 05-06-2010 12:14 PM
help me with port area jwesenick79 Enclosure Discussion & Design Construction Help 5 01-08-2010 12:22 PM
Calculating port length for a port with changing area? 98AckCL23 Enclosure Discussion & Design Construction Help 12 12-27-2009 01:40 AM
Enough Port Area worstenemy453 General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 13 10-02-2009 07:34 PM
How much port area? DeadlySones Enclosure Discussion & Design Construction Help 15 07-22-2009 11:45 AM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.