Powering LED's and fans and more - Car Audio Classifieds!
Car Audio Classifieds!  

Go Back   Car Audio Classifieds! > Car Audio Help & Discussion > General Car Audio Discussion & Questions

General Car Audio Discussion & Questions All general car audio discussion goes here. Need help installing speakers, headunits, amps or electrical? Having problems with equipment? Have questions about a product, post here.


Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2011, 06:52 PM
LowLyfe's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss200
Location: Montana
Thanks: 17
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Question Powering LED's and fans and more

Im getting ready to install my system into my car so im trying to put together a list of the equipment im going to need in order to hook everything up.
What im not sure about is where i should supply the power to the LED's and the fans for the amp rack from?

Also ive got a run of 1/0 going from the battery to the rear of the car which i will put a distribution block on the end to supply the power to both of my amps (a 1800.1RMS and a 500.4RMS) and a pair of compressors for the air ride. My question here is do i need to use a fused block or should i go with a standard block, and if it needs to be fused which size do i need for the amps?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-28-2011, 08:11 PM
Elite Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss4405
Location: N. Alabama
Thanks: 296
Thanked 674 Times in 524 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Default

The rule is: If you reduce the wire size at any point, you need to re-fuse for the wire size. I would assume that you are running 0/1 straight to the larger amp, so the wire should already be fused "upstream" to protect that. The 500 watter can be fused at around 80 amps. Six or 4 gauge should be fine for that one.

To turn on all of the accessories, use the remote lead from the headunit to turn on a relay. Supply the relay with power from the battery (fused at 5-10 amps) with 12 gauge wire. There's a tone of wiring diagrams on relays if you google it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SPLEclipse For This Useful Post:
LowLyfe (08-28-2011)
  #3  
Old 08-28-2011, 11:18 PM
LowLyfe's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss200
Location: Montana
Thanks: 17
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Thats the info i was looking for. thanks bro, i have diagrams for relays so im good to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4  
Old 08-28-2011, 11:22 PM
thumper21's Avatar
Blow-thru KING
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1919
Location: colorado
Age: 30
Thanks: 41
Thanked 58 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Default

why not do a simple toggle switch or switch panel for each accessory?
__________________
Speed and SQ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-28-2011, 11:24 PM
Wheres The Butta's Avatar
CACO Supporter
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss6101
Location: New Jersey
Thanks: 103
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
iTrader: (21)
Feedback Score: 21 reviews
Default

I use one like this, and I have the main power run fused as well.



I use toggle switches in line to the devices.


Blue Sea 5030 St Blade Fuse Block w/out Cover
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
____________________________________

IASCA Pro AM and MECA Modex -->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-29-2011, 09:17 AM
New CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss68
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Default

Switches will allow for easy repair and replacement too without worrying about accidentally grounding or shorting something along the way
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011, 11:20 PM
LowLyfe's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss200
Location: Montana
Thanks: 17
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Ive read alot on choosing a fused distro block to power multiple amps and i keep coming up with mixed answers on the correct way fuse the 4 gauge runs after the block. ive seen alot of "fuse for the wire size" and then "fuse according to the amp's fuse rating".... Not sure which way to go here.

According to a table i saw, 4gauge is good for up to 125amps max but one of the amps ive got is rated for 200amps and the other is rated at 150 amps

So which size fuses do i actually need? Somebody help a brotha out!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-31-2011, 06:04 AM
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss413
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

If you fuse for your amp you'll be golden. I wouldn't run 200 amps out of a run of 4 gauge, but that's just me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-31-2011, 10:19 AM
Wheres The Butta's Avatar
CACO Supporter
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss6101
Location: New Jersey
Thanks: 103
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
iTrader: (21)
Feedback Score: 21 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanman31337 View Post
If you fuse for your amp you'll be golden. I wouldn't run 200 amps out of a run of 4 gauge, but that's just me.

fuse for whatever is LOWER.

it doesn't matter if the amplifier can handle 200 if the wire is melting...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
____________________________________

IASCA Pro AM and MECA Modex -->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-31-2011, 10:04 PM
LowLyfe's Avatar
CACO Member
 
Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss200
Location: Montana
Thanks: 17
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

So i can run 150amp fuses at the distro block then 4 gauge to the amps and ill be good to go right? I just want to save myself from making the mistake of ordering the wrong stuff only to find out i gotta get something bigger.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Car Audio Classifieds! forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
Level of Car Audio Knowledge
What's your level of car audio?

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VLEDS led's gbo559 Off Topic Chat 31 08-26-2011 02:42 PM
Replacing lights with LED's 92K1500 General Automotive Chat 8 06-08-2011 05:06 AM
Custom Tail-lights. Got LED's? NorthBeat General Car Audio Discussion & Questions 7 12-17-2010 06:36 AM
Oznium LED's Ryan1126 Off Topic Chat 10 01-19-2010 11:31 PM
Oznium LED's gbo559 Off Topic Chat 42 11-24-2009 10:30 PM

» Amps
A/d/s/
Advent
Alphasonik
Alpine
American Bass
ARC Audio
Atomic
Audio Art
Audio Gods
Audiobahn
Audiocontrol
Audiopipe
Audison
Aura
Autotek
Avionixx
Bazooka
Beyma
Blaupunkt
Boss
Boston Acoustics
Bravox
Cadence
Cascade (CAE)
CDT Audio
Cerwin Vega
Clarion
Clif Designs
Concept
Coustic
Critical Mass
Crossfire
Crunch
DB Drive
DC Audio
DC Power
DEI
Denon
Diabolo
Diamond
Digital Designs
Directed
DLS
Dual
DYnamat
Dynaudio
Earthquake
Eclipse
Elemental Designs
ESX
Eton
Farenheit
Fi Car Audio
Fix My Speaker
Focal
Fusion
Genesis
Ground Zero
Hafler
Helix
Hertz
Hifonics
Hushmat
Image Dynamics
Infinity
Interfire
JBL
Jensen
JL Audio
JVC
Kenwood
Kicker
Knu Konceptz
Kole Audio
Kove Audio
Lanzar
Lightning Audio
Linear Power
MA Audio
Magnat
Marantz
Massive Audio
MB Quart
McIntosh
Memphis
Metra
MMATS
Mobile Authority
Morel
MTX
Nakamichi
Niche Audio
O2 Audio
Ohio Generator
Optima
Orion
Oxygen Audio
OZ Audio
PG Audio
Phase Linear
Phoenix Gold
Pioneer
Polk
Power Acoustik
Powerbass
Powermaster
Precision Power
Profile
Pyle
Pyramid
RadioShack
Rainbow
Rampage
RE AUdio
Rockford Fosgate
Scanspeak
Scosche
Seas
Sony
soundstream
Sparkomatic
SPL Dynamics
Stinger
Sundown Audio
Swiss Audio
Targa
TC Sounds
TREO Engineering
TRU
Tsunami
Ultimate
US Acoustics
US Amps
Velodyne
Vifa
Viper
Visonik
Xtant
Zapco
Zed Audio
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Links
Amp Guts
amplifier, amp guts, ampguts, car audio classifieds, speakers and subs for sale with listings of 12 volt sound systems. Security systems for sale for aftermarket car audio equipment with amplifier and amps for sale
Car Audio Forum
car audio forum, moble audio, car stereo, wholesale car audio, 12 volt, with, amplifier, amp, subwoofer, sound quality, buy car audio, and sell automotive stereo systems for cars
Car Audio Sound Quality Forum
Sound QUality science based car audio forum, amplifier, subs and speaker design, fabrication help, sound systems forum, aftermarket car audio website for sound quality.
Car Stereo Forum
DIYMA car audio stereo forum for 12 volt car audio subwoofer and amplifier systems that have sound quality with wholesale car audio products.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.